概覽

馮明秋是一位自學的藝術家,他亦是專注語言文字的藝術家:散文、小說、詩歌、篆刻及書法。他出生於中國廣東,成長於香港,於20歲中期遷至紐約生活。馮明秋自幼時便受到藝術的浸染,而在曼哈頓邂逅視覺藝術則重新啟迪了他的精神世界。藝術家以篆刻與中國書法來回應他鑽研書寫文字的獨特之道。

 

馮明秋專注於探索中國文字,包括表意符號與象形文字等藝術形式,並研究書寫文字在表現形式及聲音的結合過程中發生的意義轉換。自1970年代開始其藝術生涯,馮明秋憑藉著對文字線條、筆觸、結構與材料的大膽實驗,深入探究中國文字於視覺上與概念性上的可能性,在尊重傳統基礎上進一步挑戰“水墨”這一傳統媒介之界限。

 

在藝術家參與過的眾多國際展覽中,馮明秋曾於1999年在台北市立美術館舉辦大型個展。他亦曾是劍橋大學的駐留藝術家,而他的作品被收藏於眾多重要的私人及機構收藏中,包括:大都會藝術博物館(紐約)、白兔當代藝術收藏(White Rabbit Collection,悉尼)和以色列博物館(耶路撒冷)。他亦是一名活躍的畫家、攝影家與雕塑家。2008年他為愛馬仕創作了「Les Poemes du Mandarin」的餐具圖樣。馮明秋現居於香港。

作品
展覽
最新動態
出版刊物

Overview

Self-taught, Fung Ming Chip is primarily an artist of the word: essayist, novelist, poet, playwright, Zhuan Ke (seal carving) and Shu Fa (calligraphy). He was born in Guangdong, raised in Hong Kong and moved to New York City in his mid-20s. Sensing the artist within since childhood, his encounter with visual arts in Manhattan and beyond re-awakened this spirit. Responding with his unique approach to the written word, he undertook exploring Zhuan-ke (seal carving) and Shu-fa (Chinese calligraphy).

 

Much of Fung’s work has explored ideograms and pictographs – particularly Chinese characters – and investigated how meaning is transmitted in written languages through a combination of form and sound. These ideas lie at the heart of much of Fung’s work, including steles, sculptures, Shu-fa and ink paintings, seal carvings, engravings on mixed media and stop-motion animation in this exhibition. 

 

Since he began working as an artist in the 1970s, Fung has repeatedly analyzed the visual and conceptual possibilities of individual Chinese characters by experimenting with lines, strokes, compositional arrangement and materials, respectfully pushing the boundaries of this traditional medium.

 

Among his many international exhibitions, Fung had a major solo retrospective at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum in 1999. He was artist in residence at Cambridge University, and his work is included in major private and institutional collections around the world, including The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, White Rabbit Collection, Sydney and Israel Museum, Jerusalem. He has also been active as a painter, photographer, and sculptor. In 2008, he created Les Poemes du Mandarin tableware pattern for Hermes. Fung currently resides in Hong Kong.

Works
Exhibitions
News
Publications