概覽

艾迪亞•米勒(1975年生於美國)以繪畫、攝影錄像、紡織物、裝置和詩歌等為創作手段,藉著藝術提出問題,促使觀者自我反省,展開對話。米勒的創作靈感來源廣泛,其中包括城市和自然環境、過去和當今的流行音樂、日常生活中的素材、她自身的家庭史、生活經驗和社會時事。她的創作對當前的歷史時刻作出回應,是對家庭關係、公共領域、身份認同(如種族、族群、性別)和靈性的探索。

 

曾在加州大學伯克利分校和加州藝術學院攻讀,先後獲藝術學士和藝術碩士學位。2001年,米勒移居紐約,相繼獲邀參加惠特尼美國藝術博物館的獨立研究計劃和哈林工作室美術館駐村計劃。她在紐約居住了十年,參加過許多備受觸目的群展,其中包括「Freestyle」(哈林工作室博物館,2001年)、「Living Units」(Triple Candie畫廊,2003年)、「Black President」(新當代藝術博物館,2003年)和「Greater New York」(現代藝術博物館PS1分館,2005年),以及近期的「Where is Here」(非裔移民博物館,2017年),和「Black Refractions」(哈林工作室博物館,2019年)。

 

近期的個展包括 「花落花開」(香港世界畫廊,2020年);「Breaking Patterns」(美國非裔移民博物館,2019年);和「The Privilege to Breathe」(美國聖荷西拼布與織品博物館,2019年)。米勒曾在芝加哥的哥倫比亞學院、加州大學聖克魯斯分校、庫珀聯合學院和加利福尼亞的藝術學院任教。米勒現居舊金山灣區奧克蘭市。

 

2022年,米勒正在籌備兩個個展項目,一個探索非裔紡織與絎縫藝術的個展將於美國di Rosa當代藝術中心舉行。在秋季 ,她將於世界畫廊推出在亞洲的第二個個展。

作品
展覽
最新動態
出版刊物

Overview

Adia Millett (b. 1975, United States) is acclaimed for her deep exploration of basic configurations, diverse expressive practices, and experimentation with mediums. Trained in the fine arts, art history, and the postmodernist theories of cultural studies, Millett conveys her felt concerns in the discourses of the domestic, the public sphere, gender positions, and spirituality through the interdependent form and content of the abstract compositions of her works.

 

Millett received a BFA from the University of California at Berkeley, and an MFA from the California Institute of the Arts. In 2001, she moved to New York for the Whitney Museum Independent Study Program, followed by a residency at the Studio Museum in Harlem. She lived and worked in New York for a decade, exhibiting in high-profile group shows among them “Freestyle” (Studio Museum in Harlem, 2001), “Living Units” (Triple Candie, 2003), “Black President” (The New Museum, 2003), and “Greater New York” (Museum of Modern Art PS1, 2005), and recently in “Where is Here” (Museum of African Diaspora, 2017), and “Black Refractions” (Studio Museum in Harlem, 2019).

 

Recent solo exhibitions include “A Matter of Time” (Galerie du Monde, 2020); “Breaking Patterns” (California African American Museum, United States, 2019); and “The Privilege to Breathe” (San Jose Museum of Quilts and Textiles, United States, 2019). Millett has taught as an artist in residence at Columbia College in Chicago, University of California Santa Cruz, Cooper Union, and California College of the Arts. She currently lives and works in Oakland, California.

 

She has two forthcoming solo exhibitions in 2022, an exhibition exploring African-American textile art at the di Rosa Center for Contemporary Art in the United States, and her second exhibition at Galerie du Monde in Hong Kong.

Works
Exhibitions
News
Publications