概覽

朱毅勇於四川美術學院學習油畫。其著名畫作《父與子》作為四川優秀年輕藝術家代表作品參與展覽。其後朱毅勇參加中國第二屆青年美展獲得銅獎,1980年於四川美術館參與四川省青年美術作品展。1981年於四川美術學院畢業後留校任教至今。藝術家曾參與多個國際展覽,近期展覽包括:世界畫廊,香港(2012年、2014年、2016年);Schoeni Art Gallery,香港(2011年);798 Avant Garde Gallery,紐約(2008年)。

 

朱毅勇作為「鄉土繪畫」重要代表人物之一,早年以描繪鄉村生活的人像畫與嫻熟的繪畫技巧而備受關注。近年其油畫系列《中國記憶》讓藝術家獲得國際上的廣泛認可。此系列描繪中國孩童翻花繩的情景,並含蓄地引用文化大革命標誌性的紅星符號。

 

在當代藝術在全球市場持續升溫的當下,朱毅勇忠誠於自己的真實體驗,以及對所處社會現實環境的敏銳觀察。透過其純熟的繪畫技巧融合前衛觀念,藝術家正面批判著中國社會以犧牲自然環境為基礎的經濟發展和城市擴張。

作品
展覽
出版刊物

Overview

Zhu Yiyong studied at the Oil Painting Department of the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute. His monumental painting, Father and Son, was selected for an exhibition of works by Sichuan Young Artists. He then participated in the Second Chinese National Youths Art Exhibition where he received a bronze medal, before placing in The Sichuan Youths Art Exhibition at the Sichuan Museum of Art in 1980. In 1981, Zhu Yiyong became a Professor at the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute where he still holds a position as an esteemed academic. The artist has exhibited internationally with recent solo exhibitions at Galerie du Monde, Hong Kong (2012/2014/2016), Schoeni Art Gallery, Hong Kong (2011) and 798 Avant Garde gallery, New York (2008).

 

Zhu Yiyong received critical acclaim early on in his career for his ‘Rustic Realistic painting’ a field in which he is a leading artist. His portraits of rural life in China and delicate use of colour to construct a social commentary became the cornerstone of his work, with his series ‘Memories of China’, featuring Chinese holding up a cat’s cradle in the shape of a red star, winning him critical acclaim in recent years.

 

While contemporary artists increasingly feel drawn towards a growing art market, Zhu remains true to his personal experience and his personal experience only, as he observes the physical environment of the society he finds himself in, using an avant-garde approach to critique economic growth, sprawling urban society in China, and the destruction of the natural environment.

Works
Exhibitions
Publications