香港巴塞爾藝術展 2017

2017年03月23日 - 03月26日
香港會議展覽中心 Booth 3D27

世界畫廊欣然參與本年度巴塞爾藝術展香港展會亞洲視野(Insights)展區,於其展位3D27展出「五月畫會」的大型藝術史回顧展,同期亦將在畫廊空間舉辦同名大型群展。「五月畫會」因對大中華區當代與現代藝術史發展貢獻良多而蜚聲藝壇,世界畫廊將在2017年3月的巴塞爾藝術展香港展會中精選展出「五月畫會」成員早期重要的代表作品。作為歷史最悠久的香港當代藝術畫廊,世界畫廊同時將於畫廊空間呈獻該團體的近期作品群展。藝術展與畫廊空間中同步呈獻的兩個展覽相輔而成,可以使得觀眾更全面了解「五月畫會」運動及其歷史語境,亦可一覽逾五十年以來,由其在藝術史上舉足輕重的藝術家成員所創作的重要作品。

 

自一九五零年代開始,「五月畫會」的藝術家已是台灣現代藝術運動的先鋒代表人物。他們以美國抽象表現主義融入中國傳統水墨,迎來了中國當代藝術的新時代。被喻為「現代水墨畫之父」的劉國松於1956年創辦了「五月畫會」,並於1957年5月在台北中山堂舉行了首展,之後開始固定在每年的五月舉辦畫展。「五月畫會」更是大膽和創新的代名詞,他們通過主題、概念和藝術手法來捍衛表達的自由。 因此,畫會被視為台灣當代藝術團體的先鋒,對台灣及大中華地區藝術的發展具有深遠的影響。

 

今屆巴塞爾藝術展香港展會,世界畫廊將在亞洲視野(Insights)展區展出五十至七十年代「五月畫會」成員早期的重要作品,藝術家包括:劉國松(1932年生於中國安徽)、胡奇中(1927年至2012年,生於中國浙江)、馮鍾睿(1933年生於中國河南)與 陳庭詩(1913年至2002年,生於中國福建)。畫廊亦將呈獻早期「五月畫會」運動中的珍貴歷史材料,包括早年展覽期間的畫冊、邀請函、現場照片與信件等。巴塞爾藝術展香港展會的亞洲視野(Insights)展區呈獻來自亞洲及亞太地區的畫廊以及藝術家——從土耳其到新西蘭,包括亞洲、中東和印度次大陸地區藝術家具代表的項目。

 

除了參與巴塞爾藝術展,「世界畫廊」亦將在其位於香港中環畫廊空間同期舉辦「五月畫會」的大型群展「五月畫會之抽象浪潮」,該展覽將呈獻四位成員創作於70年代後至近期的作品,完整地補充巴塞爾藝術展項目中四位成員的作品之藝術發展脈絡,展期自2017年3月17日至4月23日。這是繼畫廊於2016年4月呈獻並大受好評的「五月畫會」群展後又一極具規模的大型群展,而畫廊早前亦分別為劉國松(2014年)和馮鍾睿(2015年)舉辦過個人回顧展而胡奇中個人展覽將於四月下旬舉辦。

Art Basel Hong Kong 2017

23 - 26 March 2017
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre Booth 3D27

The Influence of Abstraction – The Fifth Moon

 

Galerie du Monde is pleased to announce its participation in Art Basel in Hong Kong as part of the Insights sector in Booth 3D27, with a presentation of work by the Fifth Moon Group, alongside a concurrent exhibition at the gallery space. Highlighting the importance of the group in the history of Chinese contemporary and modern art, Galerie du Monde will showcase a series of rarely seen early works at Art Basel in Hong Kong in March. This will be complemented by an exhibition of later works at the gallery itself; the longest running contemporary art gallery in Hong Kong. Together the two presentations will provide visitors with an overview of the Fifth Moon Group movement and its context, as well as the artworks created by this group of historically influential artists spanning over five decades.

 

Starting in the 1950s, the Fifth Moon Group of Chinese artists were at the forefront of the modern art movement in Taiwan. Their avant-garde approach incorporated American abstract expressionism into traditional Chinese ink painting and ushered in a new era of Chinese contemporary art. The Fifth Moon Group was founded in 1956 by Liu Kuo-Sung who is acclaimed as ‘The Father of Modern Ink Painting’ and its first exhibition was organized in Zhong Shan Hall, Taipei, in 1957. Since this initial event, the group exhibited work in May every year. The Fifth Moon Group was synonymous with boldness and innovation as well as upholding liberty through subject matter, concept and its presentation of art. Consequently the group is considered a pioneer of Taiwan’s contemporary art groups and is profoundly influential to the development of art in Taiwan and Greater China.

 

For Art Basel in Hong Kong, Galerie du Monde will present important early works between the 50’s and 70’s by Fifth Moon members: Liu Kuo-Sung (b.1932, Anhui, China), Hu Chi-Chung (b. 1927 – 2012, Zhejiang, China), Fong Chung-Ray (b. 1933, Henan, China) and Chen Ting-Shih (b. 1913 – 2002, Fujian, China). Important archive materials relating to the early Fifth Moon movement, such as catalogues, invitations, photos and letters at the Insights sector, will also be curated within the display. The Insights sector at Art Basel in Hong Kong presents projects by galleries based in the Asia and the Asia-Pacific region and representing artists from the region – from Turkey to New Zealand, including Asia, the Middle East and the Indian subcontinent.

 

Alongside the presentation at Art Basel, Galerie du Monde will also host an ambitious exhibition The Influence of Abstraction – The Fifth Moon, focusing on the Fifth Moon inside the gallery space in Central Hong Kong, showing the development of the artists’ career by presenting works after the 70s to recent years. This exhibition follows a successful presentation of the Fifth Moon Group at the gallery in April 2016, which was organized following the retrospectives of Liu Kuo-Sung in 2014 and Fong Chung-Ray at the gallery in 2015. Hu Chi-Chung’s solo exhibition will also be held in late April at Galerie du Monde this year.