香港巴塞爾藝術展 2016

2016年03月23日 - 03月26日
香港會議展覽中心 Booth 3D26

世界畫廊將於2016年香港巴塞爾藝術展隆重呈獻張爽個展,一系列未曝光的新作,將於「亞洲視野」(Insights)展區中首次亮相。該展區為在亞洲及亞太地區擁有展覽空間的畫廊提供了獨一無二的平台,展出不同類型的策展項目。作為張爽標誌性作品系列「0-視點」的延續,該系列新作以全黑著色,和原來全白的作品形成了鮮明的對比。一系列包含立體畫作及裝置作品的創作,反映了藝術家對於性、性別及身份認同的文化觀點。張爽個展將於2016年3月23至26日期間在香港巴塞爾藝術展3D26展位展出。

 

張爽於2015年開始創作這一系列作品,靈感來源於女性在不同文化狀態下的多面性。五件展出的立體畫作清晰傳遞出藝術家內心的緊張與焦慮 – 黑布與墨彩和木炭糾纏在一起,掙扎著想要突破框架,形成了扭曲的皺褶、死結和交疊。織品和帆布上所呈現的利落割切,不僅寓意藝術家的創傷和疤痕,也象徵女性的外生殖器。

 

除了掛於牆上的立體畫作,展位中間將會特別呈現一件大型裝置作品。該裝置由多件雕塑作品組成,製作方法與牆上畫作一致,以柔軟布料製成,並以單色 – 黑填色。這些雕塑形態各異,或分開或連接,扭曲的形態仿如身體,尖銳的刺從各角度突起,構成一件交織著溫柔與暴烈的大型藝術裝置。

 

「0-視點」系列反映了張爽對於世俗世界和自我的看法。受道家學說和禪宗思想影響,張爽認為「0」代表著世間萬物的本質,因為「0」是先於「1」出現,隨後而來的是2、3等其他數字,乃所有事物之始。

 

2015年,世界畫廊在位於中環的藝術空間首次完整地呈現「0-視點」整個系列的作品,其中包括外型酷似子宮的巨大白色布質隧道和頂篷裝置,以及一系列以牙籤、布料製作的性徵裝置作品。2003年,身為單親媽媽的張爽移居到美國加州,在當地,她首次感受到作為一位藝術家和女性的自由,並透過創作該系列的作品,表達內心的感受。此前,張爽在北京和日本兩地生活,在藝術事業上的發展取得了卓越的成就,她卻同時承受了父權社會對女性的偏見和刻板的性別定位,以及大眾對女性藝術才能的否定。先前的作品表述了張爽對美國的第一正面印象,此系列的新作將由另一角度出發,探索一個提倡所謂「自由」的社會,在面對女性、藝術和性等議題時所浮現的矛盾和弊端。

 

了解更多 --

https://www.artbasel.com/catalog/artist/15467/Stella-Zhang

Art Basel Hong Kong 2016

23 - 26 March 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre Booth 3D26

Galerie du Monde is delighted to present a solo exhibition of new work by Stella Zhang, premiering in the Insights sector at Art Basel Hong Kong 2016, a sector dedicated to curatorial projects featuring exceptional material from galleries with spaces in Asia and the Asia Pacific region. A continuation of her seminal body of work, 0-Viewpoint, the new body of work, completely in black, offers a stark contrast to the original series, which was created in white. Reflecting on cultural attitudes towards the self, sexuality and women, and comprising part sculptural paintings and part installation, the exhibition will take place at booth 3D26 from March 23-26, 2016.

 

Zhang’s new work, created throughout 2015, demonstrates darker sexual connotations. In the five sculptural paintings on display, black fabric incorporating ink and charcoal is grappled with over frames, creating pleats, knots and folds that convey the artist’s tension and anxiety. Decisive slashes in the fabric and in the canvases reference the artist’s wounds and scars, while referencing female genitalia.

 

While the sculptural paintings are displayed on the walls of the booth, the center will feature a new installation comprising a number of 3D objects that are also constructed with darkly painted fabrics in shapes that relate to the body. Some of the forms are irregular, while others are attached, seemingly growing out of one another. The objects will be placed together to create a large installation that juxtaposes elegance with a jarring brutality.

 

0-Viewpoint is Zhang’s perception of the mundane world and her inner self. For the artist, ‘0’ is a form and substance endlessly referred to by Daoism and Zen, from which ‘1’ comes from, followed by ‘2’, ‘3’, and subsequently all beings.

 

In 2015, Galerie du Monde presented the first instalment of 0-Viewpoint at its gallery space in Central, Hong Kong, consisting of an expansive installation of white, womb-like fabric tunnels and canopies alongside plush textile phalluses. The body of work was created by Zhang to reflect the freedom she felt both as an artist and as a woman having moved to California in 2003 as a single parent. Her previous experiences in Beijing and Tokyo were marked by huge periods of artistic development, but also by experiences of sexism and gendered-stereotypes in patriarchal societies, as well as negativity towards female artistry. Having created work that responded to her initial, positive experiences in the United States, this new body of work is an exploration of the complexities and drawbacks of a society with supposedly liberal attitudes towards women, art and sexuality.

 

Learn more --

https://www.artbasel.com/catalog/artist/15467/Stella-Zhang